dateJuly 30, 2018userPosted by:

Arkansas Support Network 25th Annual Honors Luncheon (July 18, 2018)

Thirty years ago, it  began with a dream, a cause that couldn’t be ignored, and remarkable perseverance. Six mothers came together to combat the ideology that individuals with disabilities need to be placed in institutions. These brave women worked tirelessly to teach the opposite; that when people with disabilities are put in the heart of our community, it’s advantageous for everyone. That because an individual has a disability, it doesn’t take away their power of choice.

On July 18th, the Arkansas Support Network was proud to hold its 25th Honor’s Luncheon on our 30th anniversary. We were grateful for the opportunity to honor our staff and local community members who may not always get the amount of recognition they deserve. These amazing people work tirelessly not for themselves, but for a cause bigger than any one person. We were able to share memories we will always cherish, celebrate one another, laugh about our experiences, and cry together.

Because providing support for individuals doesn’t always allow for days off, many of our honorees weren’t able to make it to the banquet. However, we don’t want anyone to miss out on some of the memories shared and great people celebrated.  Take a look below at a few of our most memorable moments during our annual honors luncheon.

-Written by: Brent Barker




Justin Trautman opens the ceremony with his poem, “All in One”



Recipients:ASN Founding Mothers- Lynn Carver, Brenda Gooch, Pam Biesiot, Debbie Lutke, Kerry George, and Julie Stroud
COMMUNITY DISTINCTION AWARD Recipients:  Tim Womack,  Hal Capps
REAGAN EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION AWARD Recipients:  Amanda McCaslin, Sharon Michaels
CHAMPION OF SOCIAL JUSTICE AWARD Recipients:  Disability Rights Arkansas,
Arkansas Advocates for Children & Families
EMPLOYER RECOGNIITION AWARD Recipients:  The Egg and I (Fort Smith)
                  Rockin’ Baker Academy
PAM BIESIOT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP  Recipients:  Destanee Applewhite,  Veronica Jones
             The Barker Family
LINDA ANDREWS ABOVE AND BEYOND AWARD Recipients: Laura Carr, Kenny Brewer
JEFF NOLTE OUTSTANDING PARENT ADVOCATE AWARD Recipients:  Teresa McChristian, Maribel Elizalde
Recipients:  Lynn and Joel Carver


CEO Syard Evans presenting the Keith Vire Throwing Starfish Award to founding mothers, Lynn Donald Carver and Kerry George

Area manager, Terri Pegue, presenting the Pam Biesiot Memorial Scholarship award to Veronica Jones, Outreach Coordinator for Immigrant Families at the Northwest Arkansas Community Parent Resource Center

Area manager, Terri Pegue, presenting Honoree, Destanee Applewhite, with the Pam Biesiot Memorial Scholarship

(left to right) Ms. Lisa Kilpatrick and Reagan Excellence in Education Award honoree- Ms. Amanda McClaslin from Shaw Elementary

(left to right) Director of Family Support Program and Community Program Resource Center, Candia Nicholas; Reagan Excellence in Education Honoree- Sharon Michaels of Fayetteville High School; Ms. Shawn Askew and Dr. Jay Dostal of Fayetteville High School  .

5 Year Award Honorees

Max Miller Anthony McCool Robert Bell  

Teri Shumate


Richard Dugan


Kelly Cudmore

Tammy Easter Byron Morgan Gwendolyn Campbell Trichia Cudmore Dylan Watson Dawn Farris
David Ames Lashawna Wise Jason Carlson Caitlin Randall Aaron Richardson Katherine Mosby
Christopher Collins Isis Trautman Erica Harvey Hill Mario Trecanao Jonathan Hawkins Autumn Castro
Oscar Vasquez Rebecca Tuck Katrina Cooks Saxony McDaniel Brandi Cole Viviana Hernandez
Janet O’Neal Christopher Brace Bobby Lee Arnell Gibson Carmen Gonzalez Lucinda Wilson
Tammie Rogers

Disability Rights Arkansas (DRA) lead attorney, Thomas Nichols being presented with Champion of Social Justice Award

CEO, Syard Evans presenting Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families with Champion of Social Justice Award. (Pictured from left to right) Northwest Arkansas Director, Laura Kellams, and Executive Director, Richard Huddleston

Vocational Services Coordinator, Kasi Miller presenting Employee Recognition Award to Owner of Rockin’ Baker, Daymara Baker

The Jeff Nolte Outstanding Parent Award is presented to a parent who regularly and effectively advocates for inclusive supports, both in the educational system and in the community.  Check out what ASN employees and friends had to say about this year’s nominees below.

Honoree Teresa McChristian accepting the Jeff Nolte Outstanding Parent Award


Honoree Maribel Elizalde accepting the Jeff Nolte Outstanding Parent Award 

The Ryan Sutton/Martin Lovelace-Chandler award is presented to a self-advocate who exemplifies the determination and hard work that Ryan Sutton and Martin Lovelace-Chandler displayed throughout their lives.  Check out what ASN friends and staff had to say about this year’s honorees below.

Honoree Eunice Curtis accepting the Ryan Sutton/ Martin Lovelace-Chandler Self Advocate Award

Honoree John Miller accepting the Ryan Suttin/Martin Lovelace-Chandler Self Advocate Award

Ten Year Awards Honorees   Fifteen Year Awards Honorees   Twenty Year Award Honorees   Twenty-Five Year Award Honorees
Randall Robinson Patricia White Dextric Miller Charles Means
Maria Newgent Keith Curry Billy Perkins
Cheryl Walker-Robley Christopher Michaels
Kevin Warren David Garmoe
Alina Kelley Lorraine Stuthers
Steve Taylor Eric Thomas
Mark White


Laura Carr receiving the Linda Andrews Above and Beyond Award

5 year tenure award honorees



10 year award honorees


20 year tenure award honoree, Dextric Miller

This year, we had the pleasure of honoring the fantastic careers of Charles Means and Billy Perkins.  Check out our ASN tribute to them below.



25 year honoree, Billy Perkins  

25 year award honoree, Charles Means


We are grateful for every person in our ASN family.  We look forward to celebrating you again next year.  

pushpinCategories: ASN Celebrates 30 Years,Good Stories,Spotlight Series